

The Glebe Society 53rd Annual General Meeting DRAFT MINUTES

Sunday 11 October 2022 at 11 am The Glebe Youth Club

Welcome and acknowledgement of country by Kieran Evans

The meeting was chaired by President Ian Stephenson who welcomed members to the 53rd AGM of The Glebe Society.

1. Present

41 members attended. Apologies were received from John Buckingham, Martin Lawrence, Andrew Wood, Virginia Simpson-Young, Dorothy Davis and Fiona Campbell.

Kiki Close and Justise Patten, members of The Glebe Youth Service community, welcomed members and spoke about why Glebe was a special place for them. The young women shared their experience as participants in the Youth Service's programs and the benefits they felt they'd gained.

2. Minutes of 2021 Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting were confirmed,

Moved: Mark Stapleton

Seconded: Brian Fuller

Carried

3. President's Report

A full account of the President's report is in the October Bulletin. He spoke about the key areas of the Society's involvement in the last 12 months. These included improvements to the website, reactivation of the events program, the selection of 27 Catherine Street Forest Lodge, home of Charles Perkins during the Freedom Ride as one of the first 30 places in NSW to receive a blue plaque and the improvement in Glebe's ecology as a result of the work of the Blue Wrens. He also mentioned the Society's active involvement in planning including submissions about the Blackwattle Bay and Bays West state significant developments, meetings with Council of Sydney planners and Councillors in relation the Local Environment Plan and Development Control Plan revue, advocacy for the Society's vision for an integrated and rehabilitated Wentworth Park, the continued neglect

of the State Heritage listed Bidura and the threats to the character of Glebe by unsympathetic development by the NSW Land and Housing Corporation. He stressed need for continued advocacy for the State Government to manage its Glebe estates in a more rational and humane way.

Moved: Jude Paul

Seconded: Jane Gatwood

Carried

4. Treasurer's Report

An audited copy of the Society's accounts was provided at the meeting and will be available on-line for members to view. The Treasurer reported an improved financial position for the Society since the previous year thanks to members' donations, the success of the guided walks program, a membership drive and changes to the Bulletin distribution system.

Moved: Janet Wahlquist

Seconded: Ted McKeown

5. Secretary's Report

The Secretary noted that The Society's membership as of 30 June 2022 was 449, the highest figure since she'd be in the role. She thought the membership drive in the second half of 2021 had contributed to this.

Moved: MaryBeth Brinson

Seconded: Phil Vergison

6. Management Committee Update

6.1 Election of Office Bearers

The following nominations were received:

President: Ian Stephenson

Vice President: Mark Stapleton

Treasurer: Jane Gatwood

Secretary: Jude Paul

Ordinary member: Janet Wahlquist, Brian Fuller, Marybeth Brinson.

No elections were required; all nominations were approved unanimously.

6.2 Convenors of sub-committees

Environment: Tamira Stevensen

Heritage: Vacant

Bays and Foreshores: Asa Wahlquist

Communications: Allan Hogan

Community: Louis Taborda

Planning: Ian Stephenson

Blue Wrens: Andrew Wood

Ian thanked the current/immediate past convenors for their contribution to The Society's valued reputation as a highly credible, representative community voice. He welcomed Tamira and Louis as new convenors and asked them to give a brief outline of their key interests in their respective areas.

7. Guest Speaker – Jamie Parker MP.

Jamie identified the three highest areas of concern for residents in his electorate based on communication between the community and his office.

- Blackwattle Bay redevelopment
- Changes to planning controls and the impact on social housing
- The ferry from Glebe to Barangaroo

Jamie's full speech is published in the October Bulletin.

8. Commendations

The President reported that the Management Committee had agreed to recommend commendations to Katharine Vernon and Jane Gatwood. Ian outlined the respective contribution both these women have made to The Glebe Society over a sustained period of time.

The President gave a special vote of thanks to Ted McKeown for his contribution to the Society for over 50 years in a variety of roles; Dorothy Davis for her work on the Guided Walks program and Brian Fuller for his contribution as Convenor of the Heritage sub-committee.

The President also thanked leaders of the individual guided walks and members of the Bulletin distribution team.

9. Close

The meeting closed at 12.10pm.